top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureFaiz Faisal

ILLUMINAKING: Kampung People


Hi everyone, so if you have been on social media, you would know the existence of this new series called ‘Kampung People’ aired on TV3 right? If you haven’t watch it, you can go to TV3 official YouTube channel to watch it. Okay first of all, this is not the typical Malay series that we are used to watch on TV and honestly, I don’t think this series is for everyone either. What I like about this series is that it gives us a breath of fresh air and actually a true representation of some Malays.

So, let me give you guys a brief intro about the series, a wealthy family was forced to live in the ‘Kampung’ with a new identity after the father was caught for money laundering and asked to testify against the mastermind. Basically, this family is living under the Witness Protection Program.

Why did I say that this family is an actual representation of some Malays? It is because the way the speak and communicate. If you watch this series, you’ll noticed that the mom and the daughter speak funny. When I said there are some Malays who speak like that, I meant me and my friends. We’ve been talking like that among ourselves since we first met. So, for me, this series is close to heart because finally we can see ourselves being on national TV.

Okay now back to the series, I wouldn’t say it is an outstanding series but it is a fun series to watch! Though the pace of the series is a bit slow in the beginning, but the series picked up very fast and you’ll love the characters as you watch. However, I’m not a fan of the ending because personally I think it was to rush and cramped. They should have just extended the series for 2 more episodes.

So, if you haven’t watched the series yet, please have a look and see if it is something that resonate with you.

P/S: I’m not sure if season 2 would be a good idea but let’s give it a try. Why not right?

8 views0 comments
bottom of page