top of page
Search
  • Sherry Wise

Series Review: Making The Cut


Finally another fashion reality show that I need! I always got inspired whenever I watched shows like this. I was a huge fan of Project Runway and it was one of the reason why I wanted to learn sewing. When you watched shows like this, you'll see that how subjective fashion is and that's what I want people to know and not be afraid of creating your own style. Another thing that I like is how the designers put their personality into the clothes that they are making.

I'm so inspired watching Making The Cut and I actually made a pair of pants from a used curtain while watching the show. I just love the environment in the studio where a bunch of creative people just bouncing off ideas and get inspired by each other. That's what I usually do when I'm working on a project. I'll do my sewing and what not while these shows play in the background to give me that mood. As much as I love doing things on my own, I also love the chaos of getting something done and I can't really be in a quite room to things done. I need conversation, songs and at least having someone talking to get me going.

Okay back to this show, there's one girl who is from KL got onto the show and I'm a little upset that she didn't go far but I totally get it.The show also show you the difference of a designer and a seamstress. I mean if you're a designer, it doesn't mean you're a good seamstress and if you're a good seamstress, it doesn't mean that you can design. I love how this show is actually showcasing how the process of making a garment really went down.Most people have no idea that making a garment is actually a teamwork and it is not easy. If you really want to know the making of your favorite brand, this is the show to watch.Then you'll appreciate how hard it is for the designers to get their product out there and hopefully you'll stop buying counterfeit products.

I really hope that one day I'll have similar experience and I really want to have my name on everyone's lips. I'm dreaming of having people saying " I'm wearing Faiz Faisal " Oh God you'll have no idea how much it would mean to me to hear that. I can't wait for more shows like this and please pray that I'm able to achieve my dream before I die. Thank you!

P/S: I really need a team to kick-off this project.

5 views0 comments
bottom of page