top of page
Search
  • Sherry Wise

Movie Review: Crazy Rich Asians


I know how people especially Singaporeans and some Malaysians are upset on how they portray the life of the crazy rich Asians which mainly the Chinese. I mean, I'm not as upset because that is the fact. Especially in Singapore and Malaysia, the Chinese are contributing like majority of the wealth? So I'm not surprised to watch this movie and see 99% of the cast being Chinese. I saw one Malay character called Princess Intan and I'm pretty sure she is some sort of Royalty from Brunei or Malaysia. Because the rich Malays do come from royal family in this part of the world.

I'm not going to be all political about this movie but that's how I'm feeling about the not so diverse 'Asian' cast in this movie. Yeah maybe they should have other Asian like Indian, Malay and what not but we can't deny the fact that the rich Asians are the Chinese.

Back to the movie, it is a fun movie to watch and I didn't expect it to be as funny because based on the trailer, I thought that this will be another grade B movie. As cliche as the movie is, I'm so in love with one of the character named Astrid. She is the rich woman who married a commoner and they have issues. I just love how strong this character is and I don't mean it in a weird way but I aspire to be her. Strong and crazy rich. I'm giving this movie a 3.5/5 stars.

P/S: I can only dream of being as rich as those people!

4 views0 comments
bottom of page