top of page
Search
  • King Marc

Movie Review: Child's Play


I love horror movies and everyone knows that. The original Child's Play movie was a fresh take on the horror genre and it quickly become a cult classic and spawn a series of sequels. Nothing beats the first 2 movies which I think it was original and much needed sequel. Then everything went sideways with the 3rd sequel up till the recent Cult of Chucky.

So when they announced that they're going to make a reboot of Child's Play, I was so excited to see the fresh take on this classic horror movie. But when the trailer came out, I have mix feelings about how the movie is going to be because of the new look for Chucky and also the fact that Chucky is now a robot. How is this going to work? I told myself not to put high hopes for this movie and I did.

First of all, Chucky is ugly as hell. I don't see why they need to change the design of the original? If they wish to distinguish both movies, at least make it look presentable. Don't get me started on the acting, it was just painful to watch all the characters. But what I like about this movie is how Chucky is actually trying to be Andy's friend and protecting him. Have we not see killer robot before? Nope we've seen Terminator but this is something is very close to our life.

I mean we are already working on AI and we already have Sophia the AI robot. So it is possible that someday we in the very near future, these AI will be compromised and soon killer robot will become a reality.

I can sense a sequel because of the nature of this movie, if in the original movie Chucky was deemed as immortal because the involvement of black magic and what not. This time, Chucky immortality relies on the fact that he is an AI or a system that can always be access through any electronic devices.

Okay I'm done talking about this movie and the verdict is 2/5 Stars. Will I watch it again? Maybe in 10 years time. Will there be a sequel and will I watch it? Yes maybe.

P/S: Next killer doll I'm going to watch is Annabelle.

2 views0 comments
bottom of page